Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Who’s Best Bet To Be 2023 NFL Coach of the Year?

Must read

New York Giants head coach Brian Daboll captured 2022 NFL Coach of the Year honors for ushering his team to a shocking nine-win campaign en route to their first postseason berth since 2016. Daboll then oversaw a stunning playoff upset over the Minnesota Vikings. As we head toward the 2023 campaign, several coaches will attempt to dethrone Daboll as the NFL’s most impressive head honcho.

Several franchises are expected to take sizable steps forward in 2023 after failing to qualify for the postseason. The coach that captures this annual award is often one that overcomes unforeseen adversity or leads his team to unexpected improvement, as Daboll did. BetOnline’s NFL futures prop betting landscape for the 2023 Coach of the Year award is officially starting to take shape. The top options shake out as follows:

  • Sean Payton (7/1)
  • Matt Eberflus (10/1)
  • Dan Campbell (12/1)
  • Dennis Allen (12/1)
  • Kyle Shanahan (16/1)
  • DeMeco Ryans (20/1)
  • Frank Reich (20/1)
  • Mike McDaniel (22/1)


The Broncos are relying on Sean Payton to rehabilitate the career of dwindling quarterback Russell Wilson. Wilson failed to acclimate to his new surroundings in Denver, throwing for career-lows in touchdowns (16) and completion percentage (60.5%). The Broncos scored a league-low 16.9 points per contest as a result. A five-win season fell well below expectations.

A former Super Bowl winner, Payton’s return to the NFL was highly publicized. If the Broncos experience Daboll-like improvement under Payton, he may be a shoo-in to capture the award. The line of thinking here is fairly straightforward given the Broncos have nowhere to go but up. But banking on Wilson’s turnaround is a bit rich for my liking.


It’s difficult for the likes of Andy Reid, Sean McDermott, and Zac Taylor to win NFL Coach of the Year honors. The award is likely to be handed to a coach that ushers his team to the postseason after a lengthy drought. Detroit’s Dan Campbell is well-positioned to be a frontrunner.

The Lions closed their 2022 regular-season campaign in exciting fashion. General manager Brad Holmes has been a big spender in free agency, having added defensive upgrades like Chauncey Gardner-Johnson. Holmes is also equipped with two first-round selections. The Lions retained offensive coordinator Ben Johnson,  who oversaw an offense that scored a fifth-ranked 26.6 points per contest. Campbell can win NFL Coach of the Year if the Lions make the playoffs.


I love what the Panthers have done this offseason. They hired an excellent coach in Frank Reich, who deserved a second opportunity. Reich has filled out his coaching staff with several terrific hires, including Duce Staley, Thomas Brown, Dom Campers, Jim Caldwell, Josh McCown, and Ejiro Evero. 

The Panthers also made an aggressive move to acquire the No. 1 overall selection in the 2023 NFL Draft from the Chicago Bears. Parting with D.J. Moore hurt, but general manager Scott Fitterer has already added Adam Thielen, Hayden Hurst, and Miles Sanders to help round out a supporting cast around whichever quarterback Carolina drafts. The division has never been more winnable due to Tom Brady’s retirement. Reich is a candidate to lead the Panthers to a surprising division title in 2023.

Latest article