Connect with us


Cannes Film Festival Winners: Miguel Gomes Best Director, Mohammad Rasoulof Scoops Special Prize; Jesse Plemons Best Actor; ‘Emilia Perez’ Ensemble Takes Best Actress – Updating Live



Refresh for latest…: The 77th Cannes Film Festival draws to a close this evening with the prize ceremony about to kick off inside the Grand Théâtre Lumière. The past 10 days have been building to this moment after a somewhat muted start that arrived under gloomy skies. The clouds have since cleared and several films have emerged as potential winners tonight. Scroll down for the list of laureates which is being updated as awards are announced.

As we’ve noted, one of the trends from this year’s lineup is the foregrounded position of women within the most buzzed-about films. Emilia Perez, The Substance (featuring Demi Moore in her competition debut), Anora, All We Imagine as Light, Caught By the Tides, The Girl with the Needle, The Seed of the Sacred Fig and Beating Hearts are among the best-received of the roster and all firmly put women at the heart of their stories. 

Other buzzy titles, notably for their performances, have included Donald Trump origin story The Apprentice starring Sebastian Stan and Jeremy Strong, and Limonov: The Ballad by dissident Russian filmmaker Kirill Serebrennikov and starring Ben Whishaw. 

And, there’s also work from veterans in the mix. They include Francis Ford Coppola with Megalopolis, Andrea Arnold and her Bird, Paul Schrader’s Oh Canada, David Cronenberg’s The Shrouds and Paolo Sorrentino’s Parthenope. Some of those have been divisive, but it’s a solid bet to never put chips down on which way the Cannes jury will swing. This year’s president is Barbie filmmaker Greta Gerwig, and we’ll know in just a little while how she and her panel voted.

Check back as we update the winners below:

Best Director
Miguel Gomes, Grand Tour

Special Jury Prize
Mohammad Rasoulof, The Seed of the Sacred Fig

Best Actor
Jesse Plemons, Kinds of Kindness

Best Actress
Emilia Perez ensemble: Adriana Paz, Zoe Saldana, Karla Sofia Gascon, Selena Gomez

Best Screenplay
The Substance, Coralie Fargeat

Camera d’Or
Armand, dir: Halfdan Ullmann Tøndel

Special Mention
Mongrel, dir: Chiang Wei Liang

Short Film Palme d’Or
The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent, dir: Nebojsa Slijepcevic

Special Mention
Bad For a Moment, dir: Daniel Soares

Continue Reading